This Is Me Talking About It by Janel Taylor

Chicago Literati

Dear Amy
don’t confuse my passion for anger
I won’t confuse your blindness for acceptance
I could never afford rose colored glasses
so the black bodies littering the streets look less like the first 10 minutes of the evening news on repeat
and more like the husband for which I been praying
God sent an apology for free will of warm fingers around brown necks or on cold triggers pointed at dark skin
when he separated the light from the dark
was he referring to us
Dear Amy
I don’t expect you to understand
You’ve never been black
I don’t expect you to understand the stigma behind African American
That makes you not want to be African or American
I don’t expect you to understand anything but unapologetically white
This is me talking about it

Dear dear dear Amy
When picking today’s lesson
skip Hebrews chapter 10 verse 26
entitled…

View original post 351 more words

Leave a Reply

